This article will explain how the Quick Edit feature is accessed and used.

Overview.

The quick edit function can be used for many different purposes, including marking up the submission. The general use of the feature is to be able to change any part of the submission very quickly and efficiently.

The form is laid out as one page so each question can be seen and accessed without having to go through multiple pages.

Validation fail messages are shown to the administrator but the administrator has the option to ignore them and continue to save the submission despite the lack of data in some mandatory fields.

Accessing the Quick Edit feature.

The quick edit facility is available from the submission display page. This is usually accessed from the Submitting->Submissions grid and then by clicking on “View” for the particular submission to be changed.

The submissions grid showing the Action buttons.


The display submission page shows answers to the submission form questions and meta data regarding the submission:

The submission display page showing the Quick Edit button.


The “Quick Edit” button is only available to administrators.

The Quick Edit button as part of the set of buttons available.


The Quick Edit page.

The Quick Edit page has been designed to show all the fields connected with the submission form in one single page. Any answers that have been recorded to that point in the submission form are also displayed. This is a no-frills approach to laying out all the data in the most efficient way possible. This page is not available to anyone other than an administrator.

The question prompts are the shortened versions of the prompts seen by the submitter. Generally, these are the names of the fields rather than any descriptive or informative text. All additional form elements, (wells, info boxes, layout dividers etc.) have been stripped so only the fields show.

All fields across all workflows are shown together. For example, if there is a Paper stage in the event then the Paper upload field is shown and there is no indication of different questions asked at different workflow stages. Similarly, all admin questions are also included.

The Quick Edit page.


Saving your changes.

Once changes have been made, they will not be automatically saved to the system. Changes will need to be saved manually as this gives the administrator further control over what is or isn’t allowed as part of the submission.

All validations that are used within the submission form are also applied in the Quick Edit page. This includes any mandatory fields and word counts.

Should any validation fail then the administrator is notified of each field that has failed the validation and given the option of fixing the issue(s) or continuing to save the submission regardless of the failed validation. This feature needs to be used with care.

The Quick Edit page showing potential issues when saving the data.

 

The Quick Edit save options in more detail.